This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
A Quest cable built around a separate power connection
The INIU 16ft/5m VR link cable combines a USB-A to USB-C data connection with a separate USB-C charging port. The supplied listing identifies this as its 2023 version and names Quest 3, Quest 2 and Quest Pro as compatible headsets. Its distinguishing feature is not simply length: it is the option to feed power through a separate charging connection while using the cable for VR.
This review is based on the retailer’s specifications, not detailed research. Those details establish the connectors, intended headsets and advertised charging features, but they do not establish actual session stability or battery behavior. The cable is worth considering if those three named Quest models and a USB-A connection match your setup; it is not documented here as a universal headset or console accessory.
Specifications for this exact configuration
| Brand and configuration | INIU VR link cable with separate USB-C charging port; listing identifies a 2023 version |
|---|---|
| Listed headset compatibility | Quest 3, Quest 2 and Quest Pro |
| Data connectors | USB-A to USB-C |
| Interface designation | USB 3.0 |
| Listed length | 16ft/5m |
| Charging provision | Separate USB-C port; advertised 3A power delivery |
| Adapter guidance | PD/QC fast adapter recommended by INIU |
| Headset-side connector | 90-degree USB-C connector |
| Cable construction and retention | FLYWEAVE outer covering, flexible joint and adhesive securing buckle |
| Listed package contents | One link cable, Quick Start Guide and user manual |
| Listed support | Three-year iNiu Care and technical support |
Check the headset and computer ends separately
Compatibility starts with the specific headset names. INIU explicitly lists Quest 3, Quest 2 and Quest Pro. The supplied evidence does not extend that claim to other Quest variants, other VR headset families or console VR systems. A matching USB-C socket alone is not evidence that an unlisted headset will work with this cable.
The data cable’s other end is USB-A, not USB-C. That distinction matters when choosing a connection on your computer: this configuration should not be confused with a USB-C-to-USB-C link cable. The separate USB-C charging port does not change the stated data connector arrangement. If your planned setup depends on adapters, the listing provides no adapter compatibility guidance.
USB 3.0 is the advertised interface, but the evidence does not specify computer requirements, supported software versions or a verified data rate for this particular cable. Treat it as one component of a compatible VR setup rather than proof that an otherwise unspecified computer is ready for wired VR. If you are still selecting a headset, our VR headset buying guide can help frame that earlier decision.
Separate charging is useful, but the power details are incomplete
INIU advertises 3A power delivery through the charging arrangement and recommends a PD/QC fast adapter for the best charging speed. The practical attraction is clear: a dedicated power connection gives you a charging provision alongside the data link. The practical cost is another connection to plan around, so this is a less minimal arrangement than a cable used without a separate power input.
Do not interpret the current figure as a complete power specification. The supplied facts do not state charging voltage, adapter wattage requirements or the exact behavior with each named headset. They also do not establish whether battery charge rises, stays level or declines during a particular workload. INIU’s uninterrupted-play claim therefore remains a seller claim rather than a demonstrated result.
The advertised SmartProtect2.0 chip is said to coordinate power and data while managing charge around 78%. That is relevant if you expect the headset to remain fully charged: the listed target describes a different behavior. However, no operating tolerances or test conditions are supplied, so neither that percentage nor the accompanying safety language should be treated as an independently verified guarantee.
The package list names the link cable and documentation, but no power adapter or separate charging lead. Confirm what you need to supply for the charging input before choosing it. INIU also explicitly excludes using this cable to charge phones, tablets or laptops; it should not be bought as a general-purpose charging accessory.
Reach and retention matter more than length alone
The stated 16ft/5m length offers scope to route a tether between the computer and headset, but the whole length should not be treated as usable movement radius. Routing around furniture and leaving slack at the headset consume part of that reach. A longer tether still needs deliberate placement rather than being allowed to cross your stepping area.
At the headset end, the 90-degree USB-C connector and included securing buckle are the most directly relevant comfort features. They offer a way to arrange and retain the cable instead of leaving the plug to handle every movement unsupported. Whether that arrangement suits your strap or accessories is not established: the listing gives no buckle dimensions, cable weight or accessory-fit details.
INIU describes the FLYWEAVE covering as wear-resistant and advertises more than 45,000 bend tests for the flexible joint. These are construction and durability claims, not a promise that the cable can safely be stepped on or pulled. No testing method is supplied. The listing also acknowledges that length can affect transfer speed, without quantifying the effect; stable performance across the full cable has not been independently demonstrated here.
Frequently asked questions
Does the cable include a power adapter?
No, the package list names one link cable, a Quick Start Guide and a user manual, but it does not name a power adapter or separate charging lead. INIU recommends a PD/QC fast adapter for the best charging speed, so you should confirm what adapter you need for the separate USB-C charging input before choosing this configuration.
Can this cable charge a phone, tablet or laptop?
No, INIU explicitly excludes using this cable to charge phones, tablets or laptops. Its separate USB-C port is described as a charging provision for the VR setup, alongside the USB-A to USB-C data connection. It should therefore not be treated as a general-purpose charging accessory, even though the listing advertises 3A power delivery.
What is included with the cable?
The listed package contents are one link cable, a Quick Start Guide and a user manual. The package list does not name a power adapter or separate charging lead. The cable itself has a 90-degree USB-C headset-side connector, a separate USB-C charging port and an included adhesive securing buckle for cable retention.
What computer connection does this cable require?
This configuration requires a USB-A connection on the computer side and uses USB-C at the headset side. It is not a USB-C-to-USB-C link cable. The listing identifies the interface as USB 3.0, but the published listing information does not specify computer requirements, supported software versions or a verified data rate for this particular cable.
How long is the cable and how is it secured?
The cable is listed as 16ft/5m long and includes a securing buckle. Its 90-degree USB-C connector is intended to help arrange the headset-side connection, while the buckle provides a way to retain the cable. The full length is not a usable movement radius because routing and headset slack consume part of that reach.
Verdict: a targeted option for a planned wired setup
This INIU configuration makes the most sense for a Quest 3, Quest 2 or Quest Pro owner who specifically needs a long USB-A data tether and wants a separate charging input. Its angled connector and securing buckle are useful design provisions. The main reservations are incomplete power requirements, no measured connection results and undocumented compatibility outside the named headsets. Choose it for that defined connection layout, not for an assumption of universal fit or guaranteed battery endurance.
Sources: INIU retailer listing and supplied product specifications.
Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon
